ALRDC Seminar for New Artificial Lift Technology

This page is for information that was presented at the May 25, 2016 ALRDC Seminar for New Artificial Lift Technology.  The Seminar was held at the Weatherford Technology Center, 11909 Spencer Road, Houston, TX 77041-3000.

 

Information Presented for Artificial Lift New Technology

Topic

Company

Abstract

Presentation

Gas-Lift

 

 

 

 

Bachtell Oil and Gas

Bachtell Abstract

Bachtell --- Gas_Lift.pdf

 

Bellaire Research

Belliare Research Abstract

Bellaire Research --- Gas-Lift.pdf

Sucker Rod Pumping

 

 

 

 

Weatherford/ALRDC

Weatherford Abstract

Weatherford Presentation --- HWDDDA .pdf

 

Megalex

Megalex Abstract

Megalex --- Sucker Rods.pdf

 

Wansco

Wansco Sucker Rod Abstract

Wansco --- POC, Database.pdf

Web-Based Tools

 

 

 

 

Wansco

Wansco Data Base Abstract

Wansco --- POC, Database.pdf

Progressive Cavity Pumping

 

 

 

  ZiLift Zilift Abstract

Zilift --- Torque Converter.pdf

Zilift --- Torque Converter Details.pdf

Hydraulic Pumping      
  Global PetroTech Global PetroTech Abstract Global Petr Solutions --- Hydraulic Pumping.pdf
       

 

Meeting Attendees and Others Who Planned to Attend

1

John Allred

Opal Recourses

John.Allred@opalresources.com 

 

2

Christian Carroll

Southwestern Energy

Christian_Carroll@SWN.COM 

 

3

Michelle Crigler

Weatherford

michelle.criegler@weatherford.com  

4

Cleon Dunham

ALRDC

cleon@oilfieldautomation.com 

 

5

Brendon Downes

ZiLift

brenson.downes@zilift.com 

 

6

Jim Hacksma

Consultant

Jim.Hacksma@comcast.net 

 

7

Dennis Harris

Chevron

DENNIS.HARRIS@chevron.com 

 

8

Cody Harris

H&H Well Services

codyharris@hhwellservics.com 

 

9

Bill Hearn

ConocoPhillips

Bill.J.Hearn@conocophillips.com 

 

10

Jaime Hincapie

Marathon

jlhincapie@marathonoil.com 

 

11

Ken Hood

Oxy

Kenneth_Hood@oxy.com

 

12

Sudhir Jain

Emerson

Sudhir.Jain@emerson.com 

 

13

Chris Johnston

Crossover Inc.

chris.johnston@xoindy.com 

 

14

Fernando Labaronne

Tenaris Sucker Rod

flabaronne@tenaris.com 

 

15

Bill Lane

Weatherford

Bill.Lane@weatherford.com 

 

16

Kelly Lawson

Weatherford

Kelly.Lawson@weatherford.com 

 

17

Jeff Lembcke

Weatherford

Jeff.Lembcke@weatherford.com 

 

18

Bert Leniek

CT Lift Systems

hfl@ctliftsystems.com

   

19

Frank Liu

Schlumberger Lift Soln..

qliu20@slb.com

   

20

Stuart Luyckx

ExxonMobil

stuart.g.luyckx@exxonmobil.com 

 

21

James Martin

Consultant

peanut.martin@sbcglobal.net 

 

22

Fernando Marzuka

Oxy

Fernando_marzuka@oxy.com 

 

23

Davod Moluf

SWN

david_moluf@swn.com 

 

24

Barry Nicholson

Oxy

Barry_Nicholson@oxy.com 

 

25

Mark Petrie

Oxy

mark_petrie@oxy.com 

   

26

Mike Poythress

ConocoPhillips

Mike.Poythress@conocophillips.com 

27

Bob Rees

WellDog

RRees@welldog.com 

   

28

Rodrigo RUIZ

Tenaris Sucker Rod

ROARUIZ@TENARIS.COM 

 

29

Bill Sapp

Consultant

wrsapp@aol.com 

   

30

Greg Stephenson

ConocoPhillips

Greg.Stephenson@conocophillips.com 

31

Steve Torrez

         

32

Yula Tang

Chevron

YULA@chevron.com 

   

33

Robert Valdez

Marathon Oil

rtvaladez@marathonoil.com

 

34

Luiz Zulato

John Crane

Luiz.Zulato@johncrane.com 

 

 

Presentation Agreements

Bellaire Research.pdf

Megalex.jpg

Wansco.pdf

Weatherford.pdf

ZiLift.pdf

Bachtell.pdf

 

Meeting Evaluations

Artificial Lift R&D Council (ALRDC)

Seminar for New Artificial Lift Technology

Seminar Evaluations

No.

How was the Seminar Helpful?

How Could it be Improved?

 

Other Comments

1

   As a manufacturer specializing in downhole tool support, this function gives me the opportunity to evaluate partnerships.

 

 

     Great time management

2

   Very interesting to see what people are working on.

   Nice to be able to contribute to ideas at early stages.

 

 

 

3

   Good informational sharing forum.

 

   Market the seminar more aggressively?

     Thanks to Weatherford for use of the facility.

4

   This seminar was great display of learning and the pursuit of new technologies

   I feel it was great and doesn’t need to be improved.

 

5

   Interesting

 

   A little longer on Q & A

 

     Overall good

6

   Broad range of presentation and ideas

   Better promoting to the industry to capture more attention.

 

 

7

   Rare chance to meet inventors, that otherwise would have no voices.

 

   More advertising to industry

     Audio device -- Low power

     Room/lunch was great

8

   New technology presented

 

   Have a standard presentation format and sent out prior to meeting.

 

     Thanks to Weatherford for hosting the seminar and for lunch.

9

   People having good idea and/or product can sit together and discuss.

   A lot of useful information.

 

   Improve the online information and online registration.

 

10

   Open new ideas.

 

   It is great

     Require more publicity to industry.

 

11

   Interesting new technology ideas and discussion.

   Appreciate the diversity in technology from hydraulic pumps to gas lift.

 

   Understand the downturn, but would appreciate more presentations.

   Could also give presenters more time to discuss ideas. Some presentations were unclear or difficult to understand the main purpose – recommend starting each presentation with a clear purpose (not just outlines)

 

 

12

   Got introduced to inventors dealing different wells in artificial lift.

   Different issues/concerns dealing with wells.

 

   Setting at the outset “What problem is being solved/addressed.”

   What is the objective of the presenter?

     My first time.

     Good discussion

     Informal atmosphere.

13

   Second time attending ALRDC and find it informative on new ideas. This provides insight into more ideas for challenging times.

 

   Consider webinar attendance

     Appreciated the strict guidelines to stay in time and not commercial pitching.

     Chevron would be interested in hosting in 2018. Just passed 2017 budget now, but maybe able to get approval for 2017.

 

14

   Welcoming and supportive environment.

 

   Maybe pre-screen for commercial/marketing content.

 

 

15

   Lots of half-baked ideas, which is… awesome! If the ideas were fully cooked, what would be the point?

 

   As always, it would useful if the presenters were prepared to explain exactly what they want/need.

   Also, it would be good if we had a few venture capital folks in the crowd.

 

     Great job pulling together so many great presentations. There’s no other forum like this one and it fills a valuable niche. Thanks.

16

   Networking

   New contacts

   Ideas.

 

   It was good

 

17

   New products.

   New technologies

   New ideas

   Some of the presenters need better presentation skills. Great idea, technology, poor presentation.

 

     Keep it going!

     Great venue at Weatherford. Nice facility.

     Try not to limit the commercial aspect.

 

18

   It helped highlight what are viewed as the key challenges facing current technology and provided potential solutions

 

 

 

19

   The presentations had merits, but the discussions from those presentations were much appreciated.

   Not sure what agenda went out to attendees, but a summary/abstract of presentations would be appreciated. I believe that would help cut down questions.

 

     Thanks for your time—for these presentations do you set up collaborative group?

20

   Sucker rods and pump is still the way to go

   CT pumping has a hitch in ALS to improve lifting cost.

 

   We need to get more people involved.

     Include coiled tubing application ones in ALS – using alternative specialty in trouble wells i.e. de- water gas wells, sand and scale in our wells, jobs in rod pumping wells, etc.